Shunt Donation Project – latest update – banishing doom & gloom

11 Apr

If you’ve just jumped in, you can read about my Shunt Donation Project (no. 6 on the List) here.

And if you’re wondering what this ‘F-List’ I keep banging on about is, you can read about that here.

Actually it’s not an update as such.  Nothing’s happened yet; I’m due to speak to Mr Mallucci today around six.  I called him on Tuesday when – of course – he was bang in the middle of an important meeting.  He’d already read the email I’d sent to his secretary and sounded very keen and as though he could help.  Which raised my hopes.  A lot.  And now I’m all butterflies-in-the-stomach in case he tells me something I don’t want to hear, like ‘actually, we’re no longer allowed to donate expired shunts’ or ‘logistically it will be too complicated’.  I hate it when my mind does this.  I can feel positive 98% of the time and then I’ll suddenly get a barrage of doom-and-gloom thoughts flooding through for about an hour.  Why?  Why do I do this?  How on earth is it going to help?  ImageI’m going to adopt my neurosurgeons methods of thinking.  Of course I actually have no idea how he actually thinks.  But after all the years of working with him, he seems to approach Plan A – and if that doesn’t work, he’ll come up with Plan B – and if that fail he’ll try Plan C; and so on.  Basically, he never gives up on you.  I have never known him (‘him’ being Mr Laurence Watkins, Neurosurgeon Supreme and Lovely Man To Boot) to say to a patient of his ‘I’m sorry, there’s nothing more I can do for you’.  He’s so determined to help us.  Of course, that means we become ‘guinea pigs’ with his latest experiments; I was one of the first in the UK to have the Miethke ProGAV shunt after its release because he got his mitts on it first.  (To be very specific, I believe I was the second person to have it).  It’s a whizz of a gadget.  So that’s how he works; he does shedloads of research to help develop new treatments and makes sure that he’s got his finger on the brain-pulse of the very latest shunts, which he then makes sure he has access to. I bet he doesn’t have doom-and-gloom thoughts interrupting his work.  So in this venture I’m going to adopt his methods.  I’ve had as many ‘downs’ treatment-wise as I have ‘ups’; things we’ve tried have absolutely not worked, hence the years spent in hospital.  But he told me we’d get there eventually – and we did.  And it’ll be the same with my F-List Number Six.  There will be some open doors and some closed – but I’ll get there.  So I need to just look forward to speaking to Mr Mallucci later and tell my doom-and-gloom thoughts to GO AND DO ONE AND BOTHER SOMEBODY ELSE.  Because today, it’s not going to be me.  I thank you.

4 Responses to “Shunt Donation Project – latest update – banishing doom & gloom”

  1. midnitechild April 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Sounds like you have an awesome neurosurgeon! I hope he’s willing to donate the shunts for this awesome cause. I’d hate to think of how many shunts are wasted because they ‘expire’, when really they are (usually) still perfectly fine, sealed shunts that could be going to people that need them!

    I understand the ‘doom and gloom’ thoughts, I think we all get them occasionally. Hope they go away soon!

    • jordantheheadcase April 11, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      Thank you….they have gone, haha! I was having a bad hour I guess. And I do think it’s normal to have them but it just irritates me! Mr Watkins is the most amazing man…I’m going to do a post on him soon (am hopefully meeting up with him to discuss the shunt donation programme) and I’ll get a picture of him up if he agrees to it. He’s my third neurosurgeon and my hero. Such a lovely guy.

      • midnitechild April 11, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

        They are definitely irritating moments!
        I can’t wait to hear about your awesome neuro! I had a good one as a teenager but I’m through Australia’s public health system now so I take who I can get, which at the moment is no one….it’s great that you have a neuro that is willing to work to do what’s best for you! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The 39th year (and my ‘F-List’) | jordantheheadcase - April 21, 2013

    […] Quietly panic about the enormity of points 7 & 8 – but never give up trying, no matter how… […]

Leave a Reply

